

Barkhamsted Fire District Annual Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: May 10th, 2023

Meeting was called to order by Vice President Dick Ransom at 8:00 (20:00) hours. Several taxpayers were present.

District Clerk Amanda O'Toole read the warning of the annual meeting.

1. To elect the following officers for the District for the fiscal year commencing July 1, 2023 all in accordance with section 7-327 of the Connecticut General Statutes: President, Vice President, Clerk, Treasurer, Five Directors

President Elect: Richard Winn was nominated for President by Jamie Lagassie, seconded by Terri Collins. There was a motion to close the nominations and have the Secretary cast one vote made by Billy LeGeyt and seconded by Jamie Lagassie. Motion carried.

Vice President Elect: Dick Ransom was nominated for Vice President by Jamie Lagassie, seconded by Larry Gillen. There was a motion to close the nominations and have the Secretary cast one vote made by Billy LeGeyt and seconded by Terri Collins. Motion carried.

Clerk Elect: Amanda O'Toole was nominated for Clerk by Terri Collins, seconded by Jamie Lagassie. There was a motion to close the nominations and have the Secretary cast one vote made by Jamie Lagassie and seconded by Larry Gillen. Motion carried.

Treasurer Elect: Amy O'Toole was nominated for Treasurer by Larry Gillen, seconded by Stephen Elovirta. There was a motion to close the nominations and have the Secretary cast one vote made by Stephen Elovirta and seconded by Jamie Lagassie. Motion carried.

Directors Elect:

Jamie Lagassie, Larry Gillen, John Andryzeck, Karl Jacobs and Keith Archer were nominated for Directors by Stephen Elovirta and it was seconded by Terri Collins. There was a motion to close the nominations and have the Secretary cast one vote made by Stephen Elovirta and seconded by Terri Collins. Motion carried.

2. To adopt the annual budget for the fiscal year commencing July 1, 2023, to lay the tax and fix the tax rate for fiscal year, all in accordance with section 7-327 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

Motion to approve the budget as recommended by the Board of Directors made by Jamie Lagassie, seconded by Shawn Wainman. Motion carried.

3. To determine whether such tax shall be paid in a single installment or in two semi-annual installments

Motion to pay the tax in a single installment. The motion was made by Kim Elovirta and seconded by Terri Collins. Motion carried.

4. To transact any other business proper to come before said meeting.

Motion to adjourn at 8:06. The motion was made by Karl Jacobs and seconded by Jamie Lagassie. Motion carried.

Attendees

President:

Vice President: Richard Ransom

Treasurer: Amy O'Toole

Directors: John Andryzeck, Karl Jacobs, Jamie Lagassie, and Larry Gillen

Chiefs: JR, Shawn Wainman, and Stephen Elovirta

District Clerk: Amanda O'Toole Paid Firefighter: Kevin Archer

Absent: Richard Winn, Keith Archer, Jim Shanley, and Norman Bird

Tax Payers Present

Respectfully submitted,

Amanda O'Toole, District Clerk

Attachments: Materials distributed during meeting and emailed before meeting.